Autumnal foods

​The best thing about Autumn is you can cram in loads of yummy veggies without really trying. In summer it is so easy to get all the goodies you need and make them into a wholesome salad. In autumn you can put all the veggies you love into stews, soups and pies, without breaking the bank. Let’s face it, we all need a pick me up when the sun isn’t appearing as often as we would like.

 For me, Autumn is a great season, my favourite. I love the colours of nature, the golds and red, that is why I have subconsciously reflected this  in my food.

 I stock up my cupboard with the usual beans and spaghetti, for days I need a quick jacket potato topper. Kidney beans and chickpeas are also a regular feature of my tins cupboard. Chopped tomatoes are great also.

Vegetable stock is always in my cupboard anyways, but it is with stocking up. Pearl barley is great for whacking into a soup or stew and it is so cheap and filling.

 Fresh veggies in my fridge for Autumn –

  • Butternut squash
  • Sweet potatoes
  • Celery
  • Pumpkin
  • Leeks
  • Carrots

I also love to use garlic more often that I already do, getting your immune system ready for the winter.

It is probably the best time of the year to save money on food, because you can make big batches for lunch and dinner and even if that sounds mundane you can always freeze and swap around so you don’t have the same things day in day out. I usually make my recipes in big batches so that I can do just that. It ends up being less than £1 per portion that way.

Of course, it goes without saying water, water, water. Just because the sun isn’t out as much it doesn’t mean your body doesn’t need as much water.

On average aim to spend less than £20 per head per week, that includes 3 meals and some snacks. It doesn’t make a difference, whether you are someone who needs more meals or less snacks, with the recipes I have been working on, you won’t be going hungry and you aren’t going to spending a lot of money, or eating bland food. If like myself, you like to take the spice rating up a bit higher than the people around you, get some chilli flakes and sprinkle them on top of any meal, for a quick change,  without cooking two separate meals.

Check my Autumn recipes page for more details.

Leave a Reply

