Do Your Bit This Winter

​So, I briefly mentioned at the beginning of my Festive blog posting, that I would posting a little more information on how you can help someone a little less fortunate that you this Winter. It is something that is really close to my heart, and although when I first started blogging, I had the idea that I would mainly focus on food on my blog and IG, this is a topic I think worth breaking the mould for.

Winter is no time to be on the streets, it is certainly no time to be hungry, and although I am nowhere near rich, I have found ways to help the homeless over the years. Now, if you have read this far and are wondering – ‘Where do I fit into this?’, then let me assure you, there are hundreds of ways you can let those people living night in, night out on the streets, know you are there for them. There is someone out there, fighting their corner. I am fighting their corner and aware there is a long way to go, I am asking for your help.

If you would like to help in anyway this winter, then you may DM or email me for more details in your area, or visit the following websites for an idea of what you could do to help. 

http://england.shelter.org.uk/get_involved/volunteer   

I have spoken to Shelter, they have advised that their vacancies tend to be either administrative or retail based, during normal office hours. Which means that you could be making a huge difference to the hundreds of thousands of children and adults who will be without their own place to stay this Xmas.

However, if you would rather work more directly when volunteering then you can also try the links below.

http://www.do-it.org.uk

http://www.timebank.org.uk

You can have a look here also, should you want to get involved in the Shelter Slippers Campaign – http://www.shelter.org.uk/slippers

Here’s a link also where people can buy Christmas cards and the proceeds would go to Shelter https://cardshop.shelter.org.uk/index.php?_ga=1.38543466.890925010.1455531628

I will be posting more on this as we go through November, please do not hesitate to contact me, should you feel that this is something you would be interested in taking part in. 

Leave a Reply

