Crazy Lazy Food

​I’m going to let in you in on a little secret…..Vegans have nights in front of the tele, just as any other human does. To do so, they require snacks and being that I am a piglet, I thought who better to show you just what you can get for the ultimate couch potato day. 

Most of what I’m about to show you can be bought premade from a store, though the recipes that come with them are definitely worth adding to that coffee table you will later be turning into a buffet table.

First up, you need a puff pastry pizza, not only are they so delicious but they are filling and they can be customised to add whatever toppings you want. My favourite recently is a super veggie version, which is so delicious and depending on what base sauce you use can be spicy or have a indulgent smokey barbecue flavour.

Super Veggie Puff Pastry Pizza

Ingredients – 

1 pack x puff pastry (usually around 325g)

10 tablespoons x jerk or bbq base sauce

1 cup x chestnut mushrooms 

2 cups x frozen mixed veg (defrosted and drained well)

4 cups x kale (washed and drained well)

1 cup x cherry tomatoes (halved)

2 cups x grated vegan cheese (I use Violife)

Black pepper for seasoning

Method – 

1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees.

2. Remove the pastry from the packet and roll out onto a baking tray.

3. Place the pastry in the oven for 5-10 minutes, until it starts to rise. 

4. Remove from the oven and add 8 tablespoons of the base sauce and then layer the kale first, adding the mixed veg, mushrooms and tomato, making sure you leave a 2cm gap around the edges.

5. Place back in the oven for a further 10-15 minutes, before removing from the oven again.

6. Top with the grated cheese and remaining sauce and season finally with pepper.

7. Return to the oven until the cheese has melted.

8. Serve immediately for the ultimate pizza.

There are so many brands that makes vegan alternatives, my favourite brand is undoubtedly Vbites, their food range has to be the most delicious brand over all. I have yet to have a product that I have not thoroughly enjoyed and though I love their Fish Fingers and would definitely recommend them for a fish finger sandwich, I accidently purchased their fish steaks a few week ago and they have been in my fridge ever since. If you are wanting to make a fish and chip supper, to commence world relaxation with, then this bad boys are the ones to go for. Paired with chips and peas, it really is a winning combo for ultimate satisfaction.

Growing up I have been so fortunate, that I have always been encourage to try different foods and so from an early age I discovered falafel and have loved it ever since. I always have falafel in my fridge because is so versatile, whether you want a sandwich that is packed with aromas or a hearty meal with cultural substance, they never let you down. I am aware that I have had such a long lasting relationship with falafel, they have now escaped my recognition of being inanimate objects!

Shop bought falafel can sometimes be quite dull, or expensive, I think I have found the  middle ground with Great Food – they are a brand that actually have quite a few vegan offerings. The Aromatic Moroccan Falafel is a must try for all. Paired with some houmous and pitta, we are set for a great recline and dine session. Note – please ensure you are not reclined, while actually dining, as choke hazards are real! I shop buy my houmous regularly as my lack of blender causes home made houmous to be a bit tricky. I urge you all to try different flavoured houmous, as you really can find a plethora of colours and flavours.

When it comes to yoghurt, Alpro make emotionally good yoghurts, they have a whole range of fruity yoghurts and a Dark Chocolate yoghurt that makes me smile, even whilst typing this. I have recently discovered that Tesco are upping their game and have a whole range of yoghurts and vegan delicacies that I am still eating my way through. Favourites so far being the smooth banana yoghurt and their vegan chocolate truffles. Yoghurt is such a great thing to have when snacking, it subconsciously marks the end of the savoury session and moves you instantaneously to the sweet treats you’ve been craving all week.

Vegan sweets can often be a bit of a hard thing to find and although some sweet things such as Oreos and skittles are accidentally vegan, finding a good vegan brand of sweets is something I felt compelled to discover when I first became vegan. Goody Good Stuff make some absolutely beauties, when it comes to sweet land, they are Kings. I really recommend you try their range and they are so tasty and they are a much healthier alternative to most of the other sweets on the market!

If you’d like any more information on where you can get hold of any of these products or what other vegan food information, drop me an email or comment and I will get back to you as soon as I can. Happy sofa slothing!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

