Thai Red Curry

I have grown up eating a lot of spicy food and Thai food is something that I am always happy to eat. I love the flavours of Thai cuisine and will cook it as often as I can. When becoming vegan I found that a lot of Thai curry pastes had anchovies in which meant that I would make curries from scratch, but when you are coming in late at night, or relaxing at the weekend and want to eat a curry sharpish, then Shemins curry pastes are definitely the way to go. All of Shemins pastes are vegan, which means you don’t have to worry about which one you pick.

The recipe I am going to be sharing today is for a Red Thai Curry, which is personally my second favourite Thai curry after Jungle, which should give you an indication of how much I like heat in my food. I decided to experiment and swap out coconut milk in the traditional sense for KOKO, which is a coconut vegan milk alternative. I decided to try this as I have used almond milk in curries before to give it a nice rounded nutty flavour, however, if you want to use the conventional coconut milk, then it will work just as well.

This recipes serves 6, it is of course you decision on how much rice you make so have left that part out.

Ingredients –

2 x onions, peeled and diced

4 cups x KOKO/ coconut milk

2 cups x Chestnut mushrooms, washed and diced

3 x medium red potatoes, washed and diced, skin on

1 tub x Shemins Red Thai curry paste

1 tablespoon x coconut oil

2 cups x frozen green beans

1 cup x frozen peas

Optional –

1 x packet of Quorn meat free pieces

Method –

1. Start by placing the coconut oil and onions to a large pan and cook for approximately 5 minutes on a low to medium heat, until onions are softened but not browned.

2. Then add in the curry paste and KOKO/ coconut milk and stir well until all is well mixed.

3. Allow to cook for a further 5 minutes on a low heat, before adding in the potatoes.

4. Cook for a further 10 minutes before adding the mushrooms and if you are adding a meat alternative add this now also.

5. Stir well and allow to cook for 5 minutes more, before finally adding the remaining ingredients.

6. Stir well and allow to cook until all elements are piping hot.

7. Serve immediately for best results.

This is such a simple curry and works so well for a midweek meal, to spice up the dinner options. You really can use whatever veggies you have in the fridge, so have a go with whatever veggies you like.

5 Comments Add yours

  1. YUM! If you’re ever in London check out Rosa’s Thai Cafe they have the nicest green tofu and vegetable curry! it’s my favourite thai food spot as everything is fresh and non-greasy like most – see their presentation on my post https://ellierochax.com/2017/04/25/rosas-thai-cafe-my-favourite-that-cuisine-spot/ x

    Like

    1. Yes, have eaten there before, amazing food! Checking your post now 😊cheers

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Brandie says:

    Yum! I love Thai Curry! I have never had a red curry though, only yellow. Looks tasty.

    Like

    1. It’s a bit spicier but has a lovely flavour, give it a try 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

