Bizarrely Beautiful Barley Cup

If you ask any one who knows me to sum up my daily routine, they will all probably tell you that I always have a tea or coffee in my hand. I grew up with a family of tea drinkers, who would consider putting the kettle on the beginning of a conversation, therefore for me, it is always nice to have a hot drink, even in the Summer months.

Barley Cup sent me some of their cereal drink to try and I was blown away by how much it tasted like coffee, just without the caffeine or in fact any coffee, it is made from roasted barley, rye and chicory, which means it is naturally caffeine free, its also gluten free and delicious.

I took it camping with me, instead of coffee, which was a bit of a gamble, but it paid off! Not only does it taste incredible by itself, it unbelievable with a teaspoon of hot chocolate powder, it creates a wonderful mocha. As this drink is naturally quite a good froth base, this mocha came together beautifully, which meant I couldn’t help but to be impressed with this as an alternative to coffee.

This drink is some what of a miracle invention for me, not only is it absolutely delicious with oat or almond milk, which I found to be the best two vegan milks to go with it, it also makes the most wonderful black ’coffee’ as well. 

I definitely recommend to be tried by all coffee lovers, who want to cut down on the caffeine without compromising on taste.

Leave a Reply

