Bountiful Banana Tree

Moments away from London’s famous Oxford Street, I wove through the crowds of Wardour Street I arrived at Banana Tree, which is stylishly decorated with large black ceiling lamps and a modern warehouse style.

The staff were attentive to our every need with my water never being less than half full the entire meal. They also gave me a vegan menu right away which immediately had me salivating.

The background music was exactly up my street, with Stevie Wonder and Marvin Gaye being among the artists heard. This added to the awesome vibe in this restaurant, that offered the perfect setting to grab some great food whilst conversing with near and dear ones.

DSC03980

To start with I opted for the Monk’s Spring Rolls, which came with fresh lettuce to wrap herbs in and sweet chilli dipping sauce. Delicious is an understatement, the sweet chilli sauce had a good bite of chilli. The fresh lettuce wrap came with a cute instruction card that made the meal even more enjoyable.

For my main, I went with the Blackened Monks Noodles, this was absolutely huge! A plateful of rice noodles with vegetables and tofu and in a blackened sauce, with outrageously good sweetcorn cakes and a huge sesame rice cracker. It was divine, it superseded all of my expectations, every mouthful was thoroughly enjoyed. This dish was under £10 and for the amount that was on the plate, this was a clear bargain.


As the main was so big, I decided not to have to dessert but rather to stick with my trusted favourites – fresh mint tea, the perfect end to what was a delectable dining experience. If you are close to one of their restaurants, then I definitely pop in!

DSC03989

Leave a Reply

