Carrot Hot Dogs

I have seen so many people making carrots into hot dogs on Instagram and YouTube recently, so decided that I would give it a go using my own recipe.

I wanted to make it as simple as possible because I plan on making lots of them over the Summer, so wanted to make sure that the marinade was easy to multiply. You will need to keep them in the marinade for at least 24 hours.

Now, a lot of recipes say that you should use a sandwich bag or something similar to that, however, I find that a Tupperware box works just as well for me, so that is what I have been using. I also found this a little better for me because I knew which ones I had turned etc, but whatever works for you!

I am using Salthouse & Peppermonger’s Guerande Fleur de Sel, French sea salt and Tellicherry Black Pepper for this, I have been using this brand a lot recently, as I really like the flavours of the salts and peppers, if like me you don’t use a lot of salt and want some quality salt for when you do want to use it, then I recommend trying them out!

This recipe is for 4 ‘hot dogs, but if you want to make more then multiply the ingredients as necessary.

Ingredients –

4 x carrots, washed topped and tailed
2 tablespoons x liquid smoke
2 tablespoons x maple syrup/ agave
2 tablespoons x paprika
2 tablespoons x barbeque sauce
4 tablespoons x water
1/2 teaspoon x salt
1/2 teaspoon x pepper

Method –

  1. Start by placing the carrots in a pan and covering with boiling water, allow to boil for about 8-10 minutes, until tender.
  2. Whilst the carrots are boiling, mix the other ingredients in whatever container you are going to marinate your carrots in.
  3. Then when the carrots are tender, drain and remove from pan, place into the marinade.
  4. Seal the container and place in the fridge for at least 24 hours, though over 36 hours preferable. Turn the carrot after half the time the plan to leave them for and return to fridge.
  5. After the carrots have been in the marinade for your desired amount of time, remove from the bag and either place in a frying pan with some coconut oil or bake in a preheated oven for 10 minutes.
  6. Serve immediately!

I like to serve mine with some mustard and ketchup like a traditional hotdog or with some caramelised onions.

I like to use Uncle Roy’s mustard, I absolutely love this brand and if you haven’t heard of them then check out their website, they have so many great products and most of them are vegan!

For ketchup I like Mr Organic’s ketchup it has such a great flavour and you can really taste the tomatoes against the mustard.

For the caramelised onions I would recommend one of two things, the first is to use some Shaws’ Caramelised Red Onion Chutney, which has a great sweet flavour with the red onions and is perfect slathered onto hot dogs.

If you want to make your own onions then I recommend thinly slicing red onions and frying with some coconut oil and brown sugar on a low heat, moving frequently.

Leave a Reply

