Completion of Core Body Cleanse!

I have always wanted to do a juice cleanse and since becoming vegan it has been something that I have often thought of doing but never got round to, this happens a lot in my life! I got in touch with Core Body Cleanse and they very generously sent me 3 days worth of juices to try.

The idea is that you drink 6 different drinks per day all having entirely different health properties cleansing your body and ultimately setting you on the right path for all round better diet and lifestyle choices.

PSX_20170705_152747

In their own words ‘Our signature cleanse package has been specifically designed to deliver 6 balanced alkalized juices a day to regulate the blood sugar level and reduce acidity along with burning stubborn unwanted fat.’

I am an avid walker, I walk at least a few miles most days, some days I will walk 10 miles and others 2 miles but they all balance out to average between 3-4 miles a day. As I have slipped discs in my back, running has never been an option for me. My other main form of exercise is yoga and I will continue this over the next few day as  I partake in the cleanse.

It recommends that the days leading up to the cleanse you cut out junk foods and process foods and drink lots of water. I usually drink at least 2 litres of water a day but have been making sure that I drink as much as I can leading up to this as it is said to aid to cleanse and I want the best results possible. You should also get plenty of rest before you start, so make sure that at very least the night before you are getting at least 8 hours sleep, if possible have a few good nights sleep before you start.

Going into the cleanse I weigh just under 65kg and although I am not cleansing purposely to lose weight I am interested to see what my weight will be at the end of the 3 days as I am aware that I do suffer from bloating and have been known to yo-yo.

Starting with my first drink of the day – Energizer, this is made with almond milk, banana, vanilla, dates, cinnamon and lemon. It tasted really good, I like the flavour combinations, I absolutely love all of these ingredients, so am not surprised that I enjoyed this. I also felt like it didn’t bloat me but it definitely stopped me from feeling hungry for few hours. Which is good because it is suggested you drink a juice every 2 and a half hours, so this worked perfectly. All good so far, in fact, I am feeling rather good, my energy levels are great, I am usually a yawning wreck on Monday mornings but I don’t feel too bad today. Am not sure yet whether this is just because I have had a good night sleep and am excited about trying the drinks or not, so will confirm when a little further on.

Time for the second drink of the day – Glowing Roots, containing carrot, beetroot, apple, ginger and lemon. This is so refreshing, the carrot and apple really add some sweetness to the earthy beetroot, which in itself is also sweet, there is a slight hint of ginger too. This was very nice to drink and is packed with vitamin C and K as well as Carotene. Again, this left me feeling satisfied, I still am not hungry at this point, so am sure this is a good sign. I have also been drinking water, to make sure that I am staying hydrated.

The next drink is the Citrus Boost, which contains apple, kiwi, spinach, avocado, ginger and lemon. Am looking forward to this green looking juice, as these ingredients are some of my favourites to eat, so am hoping they taste as nice as a drink.

It tastes really nice and I feel this did give me a slight boost as I was beginning to tire slightly.This is supposed to be your lunchtime drink which is an alternative to snacking. It also contains vitamins E and K and Folate. Vitamin E which is great for the immune system, healthy eyes and skin, vitamin K  helping to maintain healthy bones and folate which is a form of folic acid and vitamin B9. All in all a very healthy lunch.

Next, the All Rounder, filled with carrot, apple, strawberry, pomegranate and grape, this was delicious. It had a really nice taste to it and did perk me up slightly, though I was starting to feel the heat and tiredness and decided that I would have some healthy snacks with this, so opted for some raisins.

I had read that the first day was the hardest and so was expecting to feel slightly out of sorts, however, I knew that this was because the toxins were leaving my body so this was a good thing. Waiting for the next drink felt like a lifetime, so I ate some spinach and avocado salad to assist with the hunger.

Time soon came around to try the Supergreens, this was a very healthy tasting drink, with kale, spinach, apple, celery, cucumber, spirulina and wheatgrass. I have to admit this was probably the one I was least looking forward to drinking, however, it actually was nowhere near as bad as I thought it would be.

The last drink of the day is the Super Hydrater, this was made of pineapple, watermelon, coconut water, cucumber and lime. This was delicious and I did carry on drinking water as I would usually up until about an hour before bed, but I felt very hydrated and surprisingly full of energy.

That night I slept so well, I woke up feeling so refreshed, I am a person who doesn’t need a huge amount of sleep but from time to time will have a long sleep to catch up, however, I woke up feeling so energetic and fresh, it was quite profound for me.

The second day I carried on with the juice as normal, this time having a breakfast of Bran, Raisins and a bit of oat milk. This filled me up quite well as the next time I ate was some veggies for an evening snack. The feeling of being tired and the struggle had completely lifted and this was definitely a better day for me, overall I felt as though the cleanse had begun to work and I was beginning to see a noticeable difference in my skin and hair, though I was still uncertain as to whether this was more of a placebo effect, so wanted to wait until the final day to access the results rationally. I had also accumulated a small break out around my chin area, though I always had broken out whenever I detox or cleanse, so assumed this must be the toxins surfacing.

The second night I slept so well again, this time I felt I did not need as much water before bed as I was pretty hydrated from the last drink. I also did not feel as tired as the first day, though seemingly fell to sleep pretty quickly and slept for a solid 8 hours, this is almost unheard of for me, so the fact that it had happened 2 nights in a row really impressed me.

Waking up the 3rd morning, there was a visible difference to my skin, it appeared to have a subtle glow and I could see that my spots had begun to lessen, which is a real surprise as I had just treated them with some tea tree oil and nothing else, so this made me very happy. My hair felt so thick and silky, which is definitely attributed to the cleanse, as I had not touched my hair or added a product to it on purpose.

The 3rd day of the cleanse was so easy for me, I sailed through the day without wanting to eat apart from in the evening, when I ate a big bowl of vegetables, though these seemed to fill me up without too much of a worry and I continued drinking water the entire day but unlike any other day felt I had to remind myself to drink water, where I feel I had reached a suitable level of hydration where my body no longer needed to tell me to drink up!

I had quite a busy day, so think this may be one of the reasons why I was not thinking about eating as much but needless to say, I made it through the 3 days without too much trouble. I would definitely recommend that if you are going to juice cleanse and rely entirely on them for your daily nutrients intake you try to do it in a less busy period of your life, as this will give you the time to actually relax without having to become too worried about food or whether you are having a spot frenzy. I must say that my spots were not anywhere near as bad I would have expected and that was one of the things I was most worried about.

I must also mention at this point that each day I did exfoliate my skin because I wanted to remove as many toxins as possible from the surface, my skin feels so soft and I am pretty sure it is also tighter. As I mentioned before doing the cleanse, I did not partake for the weight benefit however, I have lost quite a significant amount considering. I am now at 62kg which I am really happy with.

I would recommend this to anyone who wants to shed some of the toxins in their system, I think it would be a really great thing to do if you are planning on becoming vegan, as it will clear out all of the nasties before you embark upon a voyage to healthier life choices. I have realised that I can drink a lot more water than I already do and am going to try my hardest to drink much more water throughout the Summer as my skin seemingly can’t get enough!

It is worth mentioning also that the team at Core Body Cleanse are really friendly, I spoke with them via email whilst cleansing to ask a few questions and they came straight back with some really great options for what I should be eating and cleared up any concerns I had as I was certain I was the only person who was ever hungry on a juice diet!

If you get a chance this Summer give it a go and don’t forget to tell me how it goes for you and what differences you noticed!

Leave a Reply

