Nifty Naans

I love curries, well actually not just curries, anything spicy and recently I have really wanted to make some naan bread to go with my curries. I love Peshwari naans so thought this was a good place to start, plus I have the most amazing raisins from California Raisins that I have been eating plenty of recently, so thought these would be good to throw in with some coconut and ground almond.

These were so easy to make and if you make them and set them aside before you start with the rest of the meal then they will be ready at the same time as the rest of the meal. If you want to know what curries I make then I will be posting a blog with some of those recipes soon also.

I am trying to post recipes as often as I post reviews. Have just been super busy the last few weeks with restaurant reviews and products that I want to share with you guys. If there are any recipes you want me to post, from food you see that I have posted on IG etc. then please let me know and I will do my best to get those up for you as well.

I am also using Food Heaven’s coconut oil blocks, because I think they are fantastic, I will be posting more recipe where I have used these, if you haven’t seen my previous post, then I suggest you check that out and their coconut oil, it is sectioned off into perfectly portioned blocks!

Enough of my rambling, lets get on with the cooking! This is a very simple recipe, I chose to make the dough for the naan and then add the filling as I went so if you wanted to make a yours with different fillings then just add what you want when you get to that stage of the recipe.

This recipe will make approximately 4 large naans or 6 small naans, though I have noticed the quantity seems to vary depending on the flour so see how you go. You will also need a little extra flour to dusting the work surface you are working on.

Ingredients –

2 cups x vegan yoghurt

1 ½ cups x self raising flour

1 tablespoon x baking powder

1 teaspoon x salt

1 teaspoon x black pepper

1 x packet x California raisins

4 tablespoons x desiccated coconut

4 tablespoons x ground almonds

1 block/ 2 tablespoons x coconut oil

Method –

1. In a large bowl, add the flour, baking powder, salt and pepper and mix well.

2. Add the yoghurt and keep stirring until all is combined.

3. When it starts to come together  use your hands to make sure that all of the flour is incorporated from the sides and bring it in to a ball in the centre of the bowl.

4. Set aside for around 20 minutes with a tea towel covering it.

5. Flour the service you are going to be rolling the naans out on and roll out the dough so that it is of even thickness and in a sausage shape.

6. Slice it in to either 4 pieces if you want large naans or 6 if you are wanting smaller.

7. Gradually taking one at a time roll them out to twice the size you want them to be, then fill them with the coconut, almond, raisins or if you are going for another filling now is the time to add this.

8. Fold in half so that the filling is encased and roll out again.

9. Place the coconut oil in to the bottom of a large pan on a medium heat and start adding the naan breads, one at a time until you are comfortable with the cooking process.

10. Flip once they have been cooking for approximately 3 minutes each side, they will be a nice golden colour and should have risen slightly.

11. Serve immediately for best results.

I like to serve these with curries and of course some lovely chutneys, one of my favourites is the Shaws’ Chunky Mango Chutney, which is so delicious, it really is nice with a nice spicy curry to add some balance to the plate.

Leave a Reply

