Miraculous Mother Mash

I popped down to Mother Mash just off on Carnaby Street earlier today for what turned out to be an incredible lunch. The restaurant is themed around a traditional pie and mash shop, similar to the ones I remembered going to with my Grandparents as a child, with green and white tiling and benched booth seating.

The restaurant is themed around a traditional pie and mash shop, similar to the ones I remembered going to with my Grandparents as a child, with green and white tiling and benched booth seating. I opted to sit outside as the sun was shining and I couldn’t resist the tanning time.

The staff were friendly and able to tell me the vegan options as soon as I arrived which was really good and made the ordering process much simpler.

The vegan options are limited but the options that they had were superb. The offer a dairy free mash if you are wanting to go down the traditional mash route.

I had sweet potato and carrot mash with chilli, veggie sausages and the most delicious veggie gravy, to this I added some chilli vinegar.

DSC04282.jpg

The mash was so smooth it was silky and beautifully flavoured, carrot and sweet potato are a classic combination, with the addition of chill this made for a great mash. The sausages were different to usual vegan sausages, as they were not attempting to imitate meat but rather showcasing the veggies, these were

The sausages were different to usual vegan sausages, as they were not attempting to imitate meat but rather showcasing the veggies, these were a nice change and they were full of herbs too which made for a really tasty sausage.

I had a side of beans with the meal which in hindsight was not necessary to make this meal wholesome but they were good to have along with the rest of the meal for even more flavour.

DSC04288

The gravy was rich and thick made from seasonal vegetables, tomato puree and horseradish, which completed the whole dish, mixed with the chilli vinegar this was an explosion of flavours that I did not want to end.

I also had a cup of tea afterwards, as they have almond milk should you want a vegan tea or coffee. If you are close to Carnaby Street and wanting some delicious wholesome food for a recent price then this is the place to go.

 

 

Leave a Reply

