Intriguing Ippudo

I had an extremely interesting meal at Japanese restaurant Ippudo last week. Situated in St Giles Plaza, just a stone’s throw away from Tottenham Court Road and Covent Garden, this gem is one that should not be missed.

IMG_20170716_130452_299

I started with edamame which had been sauteed with garlic and chilli and Goma Q – a cucumber that had been seasoned with sesame oil and what I am told are a few other secret ingredients. I have never eaten cucumber like this before and though I could not fathom, to begin with how a cucumber could taste this good, it really was delicious and I did eat most of it in quick succession. I am told that this is a very popular dish in Japan and I really can see why this is a must try for all who visit!

IMG_20170713_210511_664

The staff were so friendly and attentive, answering any of the many questions I had with ease. The service was really prompt and organised, this was clear to see as the restaurant became very busy around 6.30pm.

IMG_20170713_211000_648

For the main dish, I had veggie ramen, enriched with generous portions of mushrooms and beetroot, with noodles cooked to perfection, I asked for mine soft, though you can ask for them to be cooked to your preference. The broth was exceptional and the overall flavour combination offered a phenomenal experience on the palate, with the warmth and depth of paprika running through the whole dish.

IMG_20170713_211000_650

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Very interesting way to eat a cucumber! I have never actually tried Japanese food before :O. Have you promoted your blog in any Facebook groups before? I have just set up my own called Blogs In Bloom. It would be great to have you on board! I have a blog post about it if you want more information, thanks :).
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/1894424554140611/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not actually on Facebook only here and Instrgram but if I do join then I will be sure to let you know, thanks 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Okay, thank you 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

