Naughty But Nice Slices

Naughty But Nice Slices are for all of  you out there, who like me, are wanting something for an insatiable sweet tooth. They can be adapted to make them slightly healthier but for me, I ease my conscious by making sure there is fruit in them. They are completely customisable and can be made with any fruit you want, though I recommend dried fruit.

The best part about these slices pre eating them is that they are completely free of baking, the only thing you need to do is melt the cacao butter and coconut oil which takes no time at all. I used a 31×20 cm glass dish and lined it with cling film, you don’t need to be too neat with the cling film, as I find the crinkles make a nice pattern on the top of the slices when they are turned out, though it is really important that the cling film covers the sides completely.

When it comes to how sweet you want the chocolate to be this is entirely up to you, I am using golden syrup in mine, as I think the weight of it is what causes some gooey parts of the slices but feel free to swap for agave if this is better for you.

I used my favourite coconut oil blocks from Food Heaven for this, and it took about 5 blocks to get a cup, though you can add more or less of either of the coconut oil or cacao butter depending on your preference, though it is important that they are added as this is what will set the cakes.

For the dried fruit I love Urban Fruit, as they are natural products but really have a great amount of flavour. I’m also using my favourite California Raisins, as they are so tasty! The best digestives for me are Dove Farms’, they are so good, so these are the biscuits I used in this recipe.

Ingredients – 

1 cup x cacao butter, melted

1 cup x coconut oil, melted

2 cups x Elements for Life raw cacao powder

5 x digestive biscuits, crushed

1 cup x glace cherries, halved

2 packets x California Raisins

1 packet x Urban Fruit dried Raspberries

4 tablespoons x syrup

Method –

1. Line the glass dish with the cling film and make sure that it is lined well as this will make it much easier when it comes to turning it out.

2. Place the digestives, cherries, raisins, and raspberries in a bowl and mix them well before adding them to the bottom of the dish, make sure they are evenly spread and set aside.

3. Mix the melted cacao butter and coconut oil together with the cacao powder until it forms a smooth liquid.

4. Add the syrup to the liquid until it sweet enough for your liking.

5. Pour the mixture over the dish, adding more if needs be, until all is covered.

6. Place in the fridge immediately and allow to set for around 2-3 hours.

7. Once fully set remove from the fridge, tip out and remove the cling film and cut in to slices.

8. Keep refrigerated and indulge frequently until depleted! 

As I say you really can play around with the ingredients so please let me know what yummy creations you make. 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. That looks incredible! Delicious πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. thank you, they are rather good! I tend to save them for treats every once in a while to make them extra special!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Great plan! They look impossible to resist πŸ™‚ ❀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. They dont last longer than 24 hours in my fridge!

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Haha πŸ™‚ Nothing seems to last longer than 24 hours in our fridge either πŸ™‚

        Like

  2. Dan Knowlson says:

    haha, love your last step:

    “Keep refrigerated and indulge frequently until depleted! “

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment