Perfection at Pilpel

I popped down to Pilpel in Aldgate today to taste their falafel, after walking past one of their restaurants and see the vibrant photos of their falafel, I thought I would give it a taste and see what it was all about.

As someone who has grown up eating a lot of Middle Eastern food, I have been yearning for some delicious falafel, as I am often left disappointed if it does not meet my expectations. Pilpel did not fail to please, their falafel was so fresh it was made in front of me and this was evident as the outside was crisp and the inside was gorgeous fluffy, I could taste the herbs so well.

PSX_20170801_195047

The great thing about thing about this place is that the concept is so simple because the ingredients and tastes are so great. There is no room for error, which is why it is such a good thing that every aspect of this pita was phenomenal.

Served in a brown pitta with plenty of tahini and generous helpings of shredded carrot and red cabbage, not to mention sumptuously smooth houmous, this was a meal to remember.

PSX_20170801_195149

The wonderful owner Uri explained that everything they serve is made fresh each day and this was so apparent. This was by far the best falafel I have had in London to date. It was exactly how I wanted it to taste and the freshest I have tasted in a very long time.

PSX_20170801_195238

They have branches in Aldgate, Fleet Street, Spitalfields and St Pauls but please ensure you have the time to sit down and enjoy these beautiful spheres of magic as they are best when fresh I can assure you of that.

I left with 2 boxes of baklava, (who could resist?), a jar of tahini, which will be featuring in my salad dressings and some gorgeous pineapple and peach drinks, which were so refreshing and well needed after the rate I ate the pita.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. I haven’t had falafel for a long time now, I really fancy some now! It look like a great meal, they certainly stuffed the pitta!

    Like

Leave a Reply

