Tempting Tempeh

I have been wanting to make something Southern Fried Style for a while, as I thought it would be such a great addition to a barbecue over the Summer.

I made a spicy batch and a regular batch, for those who aren’t quite as partial to spice as I am. If spice what you seek, then I suggest using hot sauce or jerk sauce.

You will need 2 bowls for this, you can use 3 if you prefer to use plain flour for the first coat, but as always I like to keep it simple. I have also tried to make as little washing up as possible because let’s face it, that is the last thing anyone wants to do at the end of a long day in the sun!
This recipe will make 4 large pieces, though if you want to make them smaller then that is no problem, I made a delicious burger by cutting the tempeh into cubes. You can also serve these pieces as a popcorn style dish too.


The method is exactly the same when it comes to coating them, just reduce the time you cook them for. I would also like to point out at this time that these are fried, if you did want to oven bake them then you can at 200 degrees for roughly 20-25 minutes, or until the coating is golden. I must warn you though that they won’t be quite as crispy.


I am using Impulse Organic Tempeh for this recipe, it is so simple all you have to do it cut it up and it ready to go. I also used Doves Farm Organic Stoneground Fine Plain English Wholemeal Flour because even though it is fried, I would like it to as healthy as possible where possible. You can also marinate the tempeh in stock for a few hours if you want to add more flavour, I recommend bringing the stock to a boil and then removing it from the heat before adding the tempeh.

Ingredients –
1 x 200g Impulse Tempeh Block, quartered.
11/2 x Doves Farm Organic Wholemeal Flour
4 tablespoons x jerk, hot sauce or barbecue sauce
4 teaspoons x garlic puree
2 teaspoons x black pepper
2 teaspoons x paprika
8 tablespoons x all-purpose seasoning
2 cubes x Food Heaven coconut oil

Method –

1. Place the coconut oil in a large deep dish and allow to melt on a medium heat.
2. Place the sauce and garlic puree in a bowl and mix well.
3. In a second bowl place the flour, black pepper, all-purpose seasoning, paprika and stir well, make sure all are mixed thoroughly.
4. Take each piece of the tempeh and cover it in the sauce mix, then coat in the flour and then repeat this so that each piece has been coated twice.
5. Carefully place the tempeh pieces into the hot coconut oil and allow to cook for roughly 5 minutes each side on a low to medium heat, until golden and crispy on both sides.
6. Serve immediately or if you want to store in the fridge oven bake for 10-15 minutes at 180 degrees to heat back through.

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a comment